ADAS Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

Those who prove sufficient diving experience can participate in this course.

ADAS Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

ADAS RPL Certification

Many competent divers out in the workforce who are not ADAS certified and functioning quite happily. Those divers, for whatever reason (e.g. to comply with the law regarding construction diving, to improve their employment chances, etc) may at some point decide that they want an ADAS certificate. These divers may have been diving for years and have hundreds of dives under their belt and maybe thousands of hours in the water. For these reasons, ADAS has developed a Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) system which takes a divers previous training and experience into consideration.

Recognition Process

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is the acknowledgement of competencies obtained through formal training, work experience and life experience. RPL processes are available to all potential applicants and will be conducted in a manner fair to all parties involved. Through these processes ADAS will determine whether a person has already developed any of the skills and knowledge which would normally be acquired in a program of training. This gives applicants the opportunity to gain credentials without the duplication of learning effort.

Assessment of Experience

A comprehensive desktop assessment is to be undertaken of each candidate’s current theory and practical competencies against the ADAS diver Competency Standards to gauge the applicants level of theory knowledge and practical ability.

BURC is to establish that candidates possess a strong claim to any of the practical diving competencies as identified in the ADAS Diver Competency Standards. BURC is to identify those competencies that can be justifiably claimed and those for which the diver is deficient.

The candidate is then to:

  • Undertake theory and practical training in all areas identified as deficient
  • Undertake formal assessment of all ADAS competencies.

The theory assessment is to cover the full scope of ADAS theory competencies, including physics, physiology, anatomy, diving medicine, OHS legislation, standards, regulations, ADAS diver requirements, knots, CPR, resuscitation/O2 management, search patterns, equipment theory including compressors and chambers, records, logbooks, communications, tool safety, DCIEM tables, risk assessment, and those competencies specific to the relevant level.

A pass mark of 75% must be achieved with all ‘no fail’ theory areas passed in full.

The practical assessment dives are to include all those required in a full Part 1, 2 and 3 course.

Click here for more information.

BURC is accredited Training Establishment of ADAS.